Christ instituted the sacraments.
There are seven: Baptism, Penance, the Eucharist, Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders and the Anointing of the Sick.

The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life. They give birth, increase healing, and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.

 CCC 1210